Donell Jones @Medusa In Dallas TX

 

This particular show I ain’t gonna lie, I was not in the mood to go to. I had been doing homework and writing papers and just wanted to chill at the house. But I don’t like wasting money, not even a lil bit so I put my big girl panties on and dragged myself to the show.  I was thinkin if I didn’t go I’d be kicking myself for it later on. The tickets were $25 which was not much but still. I didn’t make it a point to rush to get there after my experience at the Jon b show with him not showin up until 12. I met my homegirl in the parking lot and we headed on into the venue around 10:30. Medusa is a club that has changed names and owners to my knowledge at least 3 times. It used to have a younger crowd full of teens and 20 year olds. The last time I was there when it was another name I had a not so pleasant experience so I did frown a little when I learned Donell Jones was performing here.
 
Once we got into the club….UGH! Okay this place really needs to get a better system going and figure out a better way to handle checking tickets. We stood there for about 15 minutes along with several other people frustrated as hell at how slow and seemingly unorganized they were. Next thing we know while we’re still standing there waiting on these people to get it together, we here “WELCOME TO THE STAGE DONELL JONES!!!” I gave my homegirl the look like are you serious??? Lesson learned you never know when an artist is gonna be early or late. They finally let us in while he was still singing his first song. The crowd was full of grown folks. Some were VERY GROWN and obviously on that brown liquor lol. The interior of the club hadn’t changed much mainly just the audience. The style of the club was more grown and sexy but the setup was the same basically. I got me a drink and we headed closer to the crowd in front of the stage.
 
Donell Jones was giving so much sexy and swag (even though I hate to use that word) and gave really good stage presence.  The black suit, hat, and dimples just did it for me. WHEW! MM MM MM! He looked very in shape, like he lost weight since the last time I saw him. The first two songs I didn’t recognize and it was hard to even hear what he was saying because the music was so loud. It was also hard not to notice the very young looking DJ behind him on stage. My friend and I assumed it may have been his son. The rest of songs I could hear him well and he sounded just as good as he does on the record. He hit the high notes good and even though he worked the stage very well he didn’t seem out of breath. At one point I looked around and realized we were surrounded by couples slow dancing with each other. I felt some type of way but had to shake it off. His DJ seemed a little inexperience, which I’m not surprised because of how young he looked but he did ok. There was this one awkward moment where I’m not sure if he messed up or if Donell Jones just decided on his own to play another song.  During one song some lady threw her panties on the stage and he was like I’m not sure if my wife will like this but don’t tell her I took them lol. He sang a total of about 11 or 12 songs including “You Know That I Love You”, “Love Like This”, “Where I Wanna Be”, and ended with a snippet of “You Know” off his latest 2013 album titled Forever. He also sang “U Know What’s Up” and I thought he was gonna say something like RIP Left Eye since she did do the remix with him but he didn’t. I’ll list all the songs he sang at the bottom like usual.
 
 
 

The show closed around 11:45 so he was up there for about an hour. While we were headed back to the parking lot a group of people behind us were complaining. One guy in particular was yelling and cursing saying he wanted his money back and that Donell Jones hardly sang. And he kept saying he had the crowd sing the songs for him and the music was too loud. Well I don’t know where he was standing but the music was only too loud to me in the beginning. And yes he did engage the crowd and had them sing a couple of times, but not during the whole show. I feel like I got my money’s worth. I mean I didn’t go to club and dance, I went only for the show. I wouldn’t mind seeing him again. I’m glad I got up and went. Check the links below :-)…

U Know What’s Up

Where I Wanna Be

Shorty Got Her Eyes On Me

You Know That I Love You

Knocks Me Off My Feet

This Luv

Love Like This

My Apology

You Know

The full 2013 Album Forever Below

Forever Album

UPDATE: I later linked up with the DJ that worked this show and he told me he lip synced the whole show. AIN’T THAT ABOUT A….

*Don’t forget to like and share. Email address is not needed to comment

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.