Dallas Unplugged Concert @ House Of Blues/Dallas, TX

Man I had a busy weekend but I’m still hype over the Dallas Unplugged show I went to Friday night. It was so live and I was so happy to be back on the concert scene after being gone for a while. The artists, the band, the background singers, and the DJ all did a phenomenal job and represented Dallas to the fullest. This concert was actually supposed to go down earlier this year but do to the bad weather it had to be rescheduled. I’m so glad they didn’t cancel it all together. The performers were Kirk Thurmond and The Millennials, Diva Sol, Judgemental and The Jury, and last but not least Alsace Carcione. I had the pleasure of meeting Alsace and Diva Sol previously when they opened up for Luke James at the House of Blues and I’ve been a fan ever since. I was super excited to see them shine again at their own show.

The concert was set to start at 8:30 and I was supposed to be there early to meet and connect with people but time just wasn’t on my side. I didn’t get there until 9:00, which was just in time to see Kirk Thurmond and The Millennials performing their song “You Ought To Know”. Never mind that there wasn’t many people there yet because these people still rocked the show as if they were at a crowded stadium. They offered up feel good music that was definitely pleasing to my ears. The music seemed to be a mix between pop and soul and I could hear the Stevie Wonder influence as well. They were playin the mess out the guitar and one of the background singers was definitely feeling it lol. Their set included other songs “Dancing Like You Do” and “Chasing You” which I like too. I’ll continue to support and follow this group on their journey. They actually have a show coming up soon at Josey Records in Dallas on June 27th so if you are free I suggest you go check them out. You won’t be disappointed.

There was a brief break and by now more people started pouring in just before Diva Sol with Soulful Soundz took the stage. I’ve actually seen her perform twice before Friday. The last time I saw her perform was at Mario’s show at Fame Bar and Grill and she killed it then and she killed it Friday too. The band and background singers were amazing and just made the performance even more complete. She performed one of my fav’s “Quality Time” and I got to hear a new song that I hadn’t heard before called “Beautiful Liar”. That joint was nice too. If you like Jill Scott and Lala Hathaway you’ll enjoy Diva Sol’s music, it is neo soul/rnb music that will have you bobbin your head and snappin your fingers. I like how she remixed them a little during the show too. I will say she got the party jumpin. Her song “Quiet Screams” always makes me wanna make a late night phone call lol. The lighting was perfect and I was right up on the stage so my pics came out better this time around. Although there were a couple of camera guys that kept getting in my way I managed to get some good footage.

Next up was Judgemental and The Jury. I let my boyfriend watch their video for their song “Bang Bang” before we went to the concert and he was really feelin them. Their sound is definitely southern and Texan. Reminds me of Bun B and Pimp C. While rappin about life’s struggles and politics this group is bringin the real to hip hop and I think it’s about time we had more people representing Texas in the rap game. Especially Dallas, Texas.  During their performance this older woman stumbled onto me and was like “Oh excuse me baby, BUT THAT’S MY SON ON THE DRUMS RIGHT THERE YAAASSSSS!” and literally spit all on the side of my face (of course on accident). I was like ooookay and just wiped my face on my shoulder lol. Anywho I look forward to hearing more from this group, they were good.

Now for the lady of the night the talented Alsace Carcione…words cannot express how proud I am of this one here. The progress that she has made and the growth I’ve witnessed in what seems like such a short time is just amazing. She really put on a show! The intimacy and how she connected with the audience proved why the support was so real for her. She hustles so hard like her song “Been Grindin” and I can’t wait for the day when I see her on the big screen. Her emotional performance of “Have Mercy” had everybody in the audience damn near in tears when she was discussing her mother and her fight with cancer. She pushed through the song and I’m sure her mother is very proud. The way she was able to take us from hardcore lyrics and beats to emotional neo soul to bouncin party vibes shows how versatile she is as an artist. She performed most of her songs off her latest album Cryptic Conundrum including “Hazy Thoughts” (my fav), “Come Too Far”, and her latest powerful single “Black America” which is so relevant to what’s been going on lately in society and in the news. The crowd showed so much love and me and my party thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Overall this show was off the chain and if you weren’t there you missed out. There were minimal technical difficulties which probably went unnoticed by the crowd and everybody did a great job. There really isn’t anything bad I can say about the night. A girl did try to push up on me in front of my boyfriend which tripped us out but it didn’t ruin the night. We laughed about it later. Well check out the links, photos, and videos below and don’t forget to like comment and share. 🙂

Links

https://www.facebook.com/KirkThurmond

https://twitter.com/kirkthurmond

https://instagram.com/kirkthurmond/

https://divasol.bandcamp.com/

https://www.facebook.com/bookdivasol

https://instagram.com/divasol1/

https://www.facebook.com/RealityMusicEntertainment?fref=nf

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOCp6Fmdsc0sD9Yh-7vFbkg

https://www.facebook.com/TheAlsace

https://twitter.com/thealsace

https://instagram.com/thealsace/

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCvwBbqPtwIryaLp5UzsZKeg

****DON’T FORGET TO PLEASE LIKE, COMMENT AND SHARE****

Leave a Reply

