Concert Review: J. Cole @ Gexa Energy Pavilion/Forest Hills Drive Tour

J. Cole put on a great show and had everyone super hype last Sunday (August 23rd) at Gexa Energy Pavilion. I gathered so much footage that I literally could let the videos speak for the review. I damn near recorded the whole show lol. But I’m not going to do that I’m still going to give y’all a lil sumthin sumthin lol.

 

I had originally bought two tickets for my boyfriend and me at the time, and since he wasn’t able to make it I had to ask a bunch of people at the last minute did they want to go so the other ticket wouldn’t be a waste. Everybody seemed to be busy or just couldn’t make it. At one last attempt I made a facebook post asking did anyone want to go with me, do you know only one person responded!!! Shout out to my homie! Thanks for going with me! But unfortunately he didn’t get off work until 7:00 and the concert started at 6:30. I know, kinda early compared to other shows I’ve attended. I’m assuming because it was on a Sunday. We didn’t arrive to the gates until 7:17 and by that time we had missed the opening act, which was YG. I wasn’t too worried about it because I don’t follow his music much but my friend was highly disappointed. I had never been to the Gexa Energy Pavilion so I didn’t know what to expect. So many people were strolling in late just like us. Once we got inside I was surprised to see all the concession stands and it kinda reminded me of the fair. The fair and the Pavilion are right next to each other so it makes sense. After we grabbed our food and drinks we headed to our seat just in time to hear Big Sean hit the stage around 7:30.

 

Big Sean’s set was….cute. I’m not a huge Big Sean fan and hadn’t really paid too much attention to his music other than what I’ve heard on the radio. I don’t know why but his voice is a little annoying to me so it’s only so long I can listen to him rap. But after seeing his performance I am interested into listening to more of his music. His beats are really good and some of the music that I hadn’t heard before had my head bobbin. What I didn’t like about his set was it was entirely TOOOO MUCH FOG! I mean like how we was supposed to see you Sean? I had good seats mind you but in order to actually see him I had to look up on the big screens that they had, which by the way was always a few seconds off. I could see his body but not clearly. And it didn’t make for good video either. Nor did the other special effects he had like the bright flashing lights. At least not on my little 13MP camera. It was just a lot going on. Kinda seemed too extra. The stage props were cool. During his performance he talked about Dallas being the other D-Town besides Detriot and his love for the city. Overall his performance was cool, he had great energy, and it was just enough to get the crowd hype for the main act.

 

J. Cole opened up with his Intro to his latest album Forest Hills Drive and proceeded to perform the entire album along with “Lights Please” and “In the Morning” from his early mixtapes. The crowd sang/rapped along to every single lyric and you could tell J. Cole was overwhelmed by all the love. The humble artist joked about not actually knowing where “St. Tropez” was and not knowing what the abbreviation for LED lights means. He also preached about hood mentality and appreciating what you have instead of complaining about what you don’t have. He brought out Jeremih toward the end of his set to do their new hit song “Planes”. At first I thought Jeremih was listed on the show because he was going to be the opening act. I don’t think he performed first but I’m not completely sure because we got there so late. I don’t think he did though when you consider the time Big Sean started. J. Cole did like most artist do and played like the show was over but came back out to do “Crooked Smile”, “Can’t Get Enough”, “Work Out”, and closed the show with “Power Trip”. I liked J. Cole’s performance the best not just because I’m a big fan and he was the main act, but because I could actually see him! LOL. His visuals in the background were really dope too. Made for good pics.

 

Even though my friend left the show early to try to beat the traffic, we still wound up sitting in it for awhile AFTER I was walking for what felt like 30 mins trying to find him. Even though I didn’t go with who I was supposed to I was able to shake it off and enjoy the show. As a fan I’m proud of J. Cole and how far he’s come. The Forest Hills Drive album is a great album from start to finish and this show represented it very well. Now even though this is somewhat unrelated, I can’t wait til Kendrick Lamar brings his butt back to Dallas. Drake too.  Anywho check out the links, pics, and videos below….

 

 

https://twitter.com/YG

https://instagram.com/yg/

http://www.yg400.net/

https://twitter.com/BigSean

https://instagram.com/bigsean/

http://uknowbigsean.com/

http://www.jcolemusic.com/

https://twitter.com/JColeNC

https://instagram.com/realcoleworld/

One thought on “Concert Review: J. Cole @ Gexa Energy Pavilion/Forest Hills Drive Tour”

Leave a Reply

