Alsace Carcione Takes Home The Title of DDFW’S Master Of The Mic

Listen I am still hype from this past Saturdays DDFW Master Of The Mic contest! I didn’t even know anything about the show until the week of because I hadn’t been on social media for like a month. I also had no idea that this contest had been going on for months and this show was the last one with 6 finalist. Mark Spits and Madame Mims represented Fort Worth, Pudge Brewer and Ritchy Flo represented Denton, and Alsace Carcione and T. Lindsey represented Dallas. Celebrities D.O.C, Dorrough, and Erykah Badu were the judges. I wasn’t even going to do a review for it because I mainly went to show support for Alsace and knew I wasn’t going to be able to stay for the entire show. But I’m just so happy about her win that I had to make a post.

I got to Tree’s at 8:30 and the place wasn’t quite packed yet but the DJ already had people on the dance floor pop locking, break dancin, and dropping it like it’s hot  having a good time. After finding out the time that Alsace would be going on, my company and I decided to go across the street and eat some nachos at Fuzzy Taco’s (YUM 😛). We hung out there for almost an hour trying to pass the time then headed back to Tree’s. By then more people had packed in and a fella by the name of Mike Lackey was on the stage beat boxing and warming the crowd up. He did a good job, I have no complaints. But hey guy if you’re reading this, I would like to see more videos on your instagram page!

My company and I sat back and watched more people pour in and take pictures in front of the huge Master Of The Mic background. Different races, different styles, different ages, different everything was in the building. The place was filled with artist and people who loved art. It was quite a unique crowd and I loved every bit of it. My company, who is very picky about music, bobbed his head to DJ Snoopi’s mix and gave me the look of approval. The first act to hit the stage was Pudge Brewer from Denton. Unfortunately he didn’t hold my attention. I won’t say he was bad because I don’t think that at all. I was running into people that I knew and also chatting with my company so my attention just wasn’t fully on the stage.

Around 10:30 Alsace came full force starting her set off with a cover of “Killing Me Softly” and who else would be more appropriate to sing along other than her music partner Diva Sol. She then followed up with “Ain’t Goin” hyping the crowd up even more. THE BAND…OMG I mean they were amazing!  Even the host gave them their props.  I looked over at my company who was seriously enjoying “Black America” and “Been Grindin” (his fav) bobbin his head. Oh but when she did “Time Travel”…let’s just say there’s a reason I don’t have video footage for it because I was singing and dancing hard the whole time. And I saw you Alsace up there jiggin lol. The audience was absolutely feeling it too. Diva Sol went into straight up Rock Star mode during “Been Grindin” and started swingin her braids. Girl do you have whiplash after that lol? There was no surprise that she performed the song “Have Mercy” dedicated to her mother who is battling cancer, being as though this was such a special moment for her. As I watched Alsace take over the crowd, I couldn’t have been more proud of her. By the end of her performance both me and my company looked at each other and said she’s got this. 

Next up was Madame Mims, who to me seemed like she got a bigger introduction than the previous artist, but that’s neither here nor there. Her style is different and maybe even a little eccentric. It was something that I think I would have needed to listen to before seeing it performed. Honestly transitioning from Alsace to Madame Mims had me feeling like my high was coming down. And I’m not just saying this because I’m a fan of Alsace. A performance is a performance regardless of who I’m familiar with and not familiar with. It just seemed like a slow start. Like when you’re watching a movie and you’re like COME OOOON GET TO THE GOOD PART. I will say she had a nice flow though, there is no denying that. I left shortly after so I didn’t get a chance to see her full set and I hate I missed the others as well. My company really wanted to see some of the other male artist but it was getting late and he had work in the morning so we had to burn out. When I woke up the next morning and saw the good news I literally shouted.

Even though I didn’t get to see the other acts, I’ve seen the hard work Alsace puts in day in and day out to reach her goals (in her personal life and as an artist). That, along with the way she captured the crowd while going from one sound to the next and transfered her energy and emotion into the crowd, was more than enough for me to feel that she deserved the title of Master Of The Mic. The first ever to be exact. Congratulations again champ 🙂

To the other finalist reading this, so sorry I missed your performance and congrats on making it to the final round. Hopefully I’ll get to catch you guys at your next show. I’m especially looking forward to seeing Terrence because I have been seeing all the buzz online about him.

I know usually I post the videos below via Youtube but I have actually already posted them on my Facebook page so you can head over there and check them out at http://www.facebook.com/shelly80sbaby2
Thanks for reading and don’t forget to like, comment, and share 🙂

Leave a Reply

